JACKSON POLLOCK

During our class, someone mentioned Jackson Pollock. I obviously heard of him, but was not quiet sure of his work. I discovered that he was the foremost member of the first generation  “Abstract Impressionists” which came to maturity just after World War II.

“Abstract Impressionist” is a style of painting that combines abstract form and expressionist emotional value.

Pollock concept seems to be mainly based on the abandons the traditional idea of composition. When you look at his work, you cannot focus on one part of the painting, every part is important.

`Gardians of the secret by Jackson Pollock

 Guardians of the Secret

 

 

“When I am in my painting, I’m not aware of what I’m doing. It is only after a sort of “get acquainted” period that I see what I have been about. I have no fears about making changes, destroying the image, etc., because the painting has a life of its own. I try to let it come through. It is only when I lose contact with the painting that the result is a mess. Otherwise there is pure harmony, an easy give and take, and the painting comes out well.”

 

Marcel Duschamp was one of the first to think that art engage a Dialoge (especially with his already made piece, pushing the spectator to react), however not all artist agreed with it, especially Pollock. His piece are made to watch passively (at least that is what he stated)

 

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

